The Interview | Alex Undone

Art is an expression…A showcase of creative skill & imagination. Visual seduction to be appreciated for its beauty. Bringing emotion to the surface and leaving you with a lasting impression. A textured foundation with a beautiful silhouette…manifesting in her dreams.
I introduce to you Alexandra Cunningham.
A model…An artist.

I came across Alex in the YouTube video “PROMBOYISH: The Ultimate Tomboy Prom Lookbook” on Ari Fitz’s TOMBOYISH channel.

My initial thoughts were…Wow, she is GORGEOUS! Who is this woman?  Her look is really different…What’s her story? So, after a little digging and sending of emails …

The Interview

Alex_MountainTop.jpg

Alex_Title

Where are you from, and what is your current city?
GERMANY RAISED ME… L.A. CHANGED ME.

How was your experience growing up in Germany?
I WOULDN’T CHANGE IT FOR THE WORLD. GERMANY IS AND WILL ALWAYS BE HOME. GROWING UP AS A MILITARY BRAT OVERSEAS TAUGHT ME TO APPRECIATE OTHER CULTURES AND OUR DIFFERENCES IN SOCIETY.

You most definitely bridge the gap between women’s fashion and menswear. Did you anticipate this when you first got into the industry, or did it catch you by surprise?
I KNEW MY LOOK WAS DIFFERENT FROM MOST GIRLS, BUT I DIDN’T KNOW THERE WAS A WORD FOR IT. I WAS FIRST INTRODUCED TO THE TERM “ANDROGYNY” A FEW YEARS AGO.  I WILL SAY, WHO AND WHERE I AM AT THIS POINT IN MY LIFE FEELS LIKE THE CLOSEST I’VE EVER BEEN TO MY TRUE SELF. I’M EDGY. I STAND OUT, AND I’M 110% OK WITH IT.


Outside of modeling, you are certainly an artist. How long have you been painting, and what inspires you to create?
TWO YEARS OR SO MAYBE? I STILL FEEL LIKE A NEWBIE TO THE ART WORLD. I’M LESS FOCUSED ON SOMEONE INSPIRING ME AND MORE FOCUSED ON EXPERIMENTING, HAVING FUN, AND LEARNING ALONG THE WAY.


So, your first art show was last August. That’s huge! Congratulations on your success! How was that experience for you?
IT WAS NERVE WRECKING AND AMAZING AT THE SAME TIME. I THINK IT CAN BE HARD FOR ANY ARTIST TO PUT THEIR WORK OUT THERE. YOU NEVER KNOW HOW IT’S GOING TO BE RECEIVED. I SUPPOSE THAT’S ALSO THE BEAUTY OF IT…..
Art Show_New

Feeling and emotion are definitely a part of any craft, whether it be modeling or painting. In photographs…It shows through your facial expressions…it’s in your eyes. Painting…expression is in every stroke. You once wrote…
You_Once_Wrote_Script
Alex_Rock
What was your breakthrough moment when you started channeling all of that creative energy?
THERE IS NO BREAKTHROUGH MOMENT. THERE IS NO MAGIC “AHA” WHEN YOU FEEL LIKE YOU’RE THERE NOW. IT’S GRADUAL. IT’S A SLOW PROCESS. IT HAS TAKEN ME YEARS TO GET HERE, AND EVERY SINGLE DAY I WORK TO BETTER MYSELF, EXPRESS MORE, AND GET IT TO TRANSLATE THROUGH MY MEDIUM OF CHOICE.
How has this new way of thinking changed you as a person?
EVENTUALLY, YOU REACH A POINT IN YOUR LIFE WHERE YOU ARE JUST FED UP. YOU’RE TIRED OF NOT SEEING RESULTS, TIRED OF NOT BEING WHERE YOU WANT TO BE. I HAD TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR SOME OF MY ACTIONS (OR LACK THEREOF) AND REALLY GO FOR WHAT IT WAS I WANTED. I’M STILL ON THAT JOURNEY…..

Alex Undone


On your journey to personal growth, what new aspects did you bring into your life?
CHANGE AND SACRIFICE ARE ESSENTIAL. GROWTH IS PAINFUL, AND  YOU WILL QUICKLY DISCOVER WHO’S THERE TO PUSH YOU FORWARD OR FIGHTING TO KEEP YOU BACK.

Fun_Facts

Alex Undone Fun Facts


On your journey to personal growth, what new aspects did you bring into your life?
CHANGE AND SACRIFICE ARE ESSENTIAL. GROWTH IS PAINFUL, AND  YOU WILL QUICKLY DISCOVER WHO’S THERE TO PUSH YOU FORWARD OR FIGHTING TO KEEP YOU BACK.

ThisThatAlex
Day or Night? BOTH I’M A MORNING PERSON + NIGHT OWL. WHAT IS SLEEP?
Coffee or Tea? COFFEE, STARBUCKS PLEASE
Clothes or Bare it all? CLOTHES. GOTTA LEAVE SOMETHING TO THE IMAGINATION EVERY ONCE IN AWHILE .
Movies or Books? EH, I’D LIKE TO SAY BOTH, BUT I HAVEN’T FOUND TIME FOR EITHER LATELY. I HAVE A SHORT ATTENTION SPAN THESE DAYS. I’M MAKING A GREATER ATTEMPT TO READ MORE THOUGH.
Boots or Heels? HEELS BABY! I’M ALREADY TALL, MAY AS WELL HAVE FUN WITH IT. NO KITTEN HEELS HERE !

Alex Undone


If you could go back and give advice to your younger self…What would you say?
DEAR BABY ALEX,
NEVER AGAIN PUT YOUR WORTH IN THE HANDS OF PEOPLE WHO DON’T UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU HAVE TO OFFER THIS WORLD. LOVE YOURSELF…..IT GETS BETTER.

Alex, thank you for letting me get in your head for a little bit. You are such a sweetheart, and I wish you the best on your journey. Continue to strive…make your dreams become a reality!

Want more? Explore & stay updated with Alex Undone!
Official Site | Instagram | Twitter

Following me on social media? If you’re not…YOU SHOULD BE!
Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

Leave a comment