Big Chop or Transition?

hair products

Over the course of 5 long years I have “chopped” my hair 4 times:Pixie cut, big chop, grew it out, relaxed it, pixie cut, grew it out and now it’s chopped once again.

Whew! That was a lot, but I have learned many things along the way:


The BIG Chop

For those who are unsure as to what this is…..The “BIG” chop is the process of cutting off all the chemically processed ends of the hair, and leaving the remaining hair which is chemical free (natural).

There are many women who are afraid to do the big chop and have many reasons as to why:

  1. “I don’t have the head shape for that.”
  2. “I want my long hair.”
  3. “I’m not sure if that’s what I want.”
  4. “I don’t know what my texture is like.”
  5. “My significant other may/ may not like it.”

….I’m sure you get the point.


Transitioning

Transitioning is when you allow your hair to grow a certain length (whatever length you are comfortable with) without adding chemicals before cutting the processed ends off. This is the route that is taken when the “BIG” chop is not a favored option.

There are many ways to transition, but the process does not come with ease. Some of the ways are:

  • Bantu Knots
  • Braids
  • Twists
  • Weaves
  • Roller Sets

You can be creative with all of these options!


Caution

 Chemically processing your hair breaks down the hair strands (makes the hair straighter). While transitioning, your chemically processed hair will be extremely fragile in comparison. The most fragile part of the hair is where the natural and chemical part meet. Be sure to keep tension on your transitioning hair to a minimum! While on your journey, you may also have the urge to straighten you hair so that your natural hair texture will “match” your processed hair. DO NOT DO IT! Try to keep all heat usage to a minimum. If too much heat is used, damage will occur. When you decide to big chop, your transitioned hair will be stringy and lifeless in comparison to the hair growth to come.

While transitioning or while working with your hair post- big chop, just remember that patience is key. Your hair WILL grow!

FOLLOWING ME ON SOCIAL MEDIA? IF YOU’RE NOT…YOU SHOULD BE!
INSTAGRAM | FACEBOOK | TWITTER

Leave a comment